The Canadian Wheelchair Basketball League (CWBL) was founded in 1986 and has two primary divisions: the open division and the women’s division.

The league features wheelchair basketball club teams from across Canada and culminates each season with a national championship for each division – the CWBL National Championship and the CWBL Women’s National Championship.

The league is fully integrated as both divisions welcome athletes with a disability as well as able-bodied athletes to play in the spirit of competition. It often features some of the country’s best wheelchair basketball players, including past, present and future members of Team Canada.

This year, BCWBS plans to enter the BC Grizzlies (Division 1) & BC Orca's (Division II) into the CWBL Open Championship and the BC Breakers in the CWBL Women's National Championship. In the lead up to each national championship, the BC Grizzlies and Orcha's and BC Breakers will compete interprovincially against teams from Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec and other regions in Canada at various tournaments. Please email Stephane, Provincial Coach if you would like additional information on Team BC in the CWBL.

to our newsletter

Stay informed on our latest news!

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.